Graduate Students and Faculty from the Applied Superconductor Center and Materials Science Program Shine at the ASC 2022 Conference

asc faculty and students in front of shaw building at famu-fsu college of engineering

From left, Dr. David Larbalestier (Chief Material Scientist), Dr. Daniel Davis (Faculty I, Dr. Yavuz Oz (Post Doc), Shah Limon (Graduate Research Assistant), Shaon Barua (Graduate Research Assistant), Dr. Lance Cooley (ASC Director), Dr. Fumitake Kametani (ME Assistant Professor). Not pictured: Virginia Phifer and Ashleigh Francis – both Graduate Research Assistant at the time. (M Wallheiser/FAMU-FSU Engineering)

Several FAMU-FSU College of Engineering students and faculty were recognized at the Applied Superconductivity Conference, in late 2022. Several awards and prizes were given out to outstanding engineers, scientists and managers who have made a significant contribution to the success of the field of applied superconductivity.

Lance Cooley, the director of the Applied Superconductivity Center and a professor in mechanical engineering at the college said, “Having chaired the 2020 Applied Superconductivity Conference, I know how competitive the awards are. These are outstanding achievements reflecting many hours of work and preparation leading up to the competition.”


Jan Evetts SUST Award

Yavuz Oz, a post-doctoral scholar, is a recent graduate from the Applied Superconductivity Center at FSU took first place for the best paper published in Superconductor Science and Technology (SUST) by a young researcher. 

IEEE Graduate Study Fellowships in Applied Superconductivity

Ashleigh Francis (PhD November 2022) and Shaon Barua nearing his Ph.D. defense, both in Materials Science and Engineering at FSU, won IEEE Graduate Study Fellowships in Applied Superconductivity. 

ASC 2022 Best Student Paper Prize Winners
  • Shaon Barua and Shah Alam Limon, Material Science and Engineering, FSU
  • Virginia Phifer, Mechanical Engineering, FSU, 
  • Srikar Telikapalli, Electrical Engineering, CAPS, FSU
Alexander Shikov Prize Winner

Shah Alam Limon, Material Science, and Engineering, FSU

Early Career Plenary Speaker  

Dan Davis, recent Ph.D., and now Visiting Research Faculty I at the NHMFL in the Applied Superconductivity Center

DEI Panel Plenary Speaker

Ernesto Bosque, Research Faculty II at the NHMFL in the Applied Superconductivity Center 

Plenary Speaker

Lance Cooley, mechanical engineering professor at the FAMU-FSU College of Engineering, director of the Applied Superconductivity Center, and associate director of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, gave the closing plenary. 

Learn More

IEEE-CSC Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Council on Superconductivity



Scientist succeeds his mentor as director of MagLab's Applied Superconductivity Center

Materials science engineering student wins $5,000 IEEE Fellowship

From India to Tallahassee in search of superconductivity