fbpx FAMU-FSU Engineering Dean appointed to Energy Department Committee | FAMU FSU College of Engineering Skip to main content

FAMU-FSU Engineering Dean appointed to Energy Department Committee

Story by
Trisha Radulovich

J. Murray Gibson, dean of the FAMU-FSU College of Engineering, has been appointed to the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC) for the U.S. Department of Energy. 

J. Murray Gibson, dean and professor at the FAMU-FSU College of Engineering (Photo: FAMU-FSU Engineering)

Established in 1986, the committee provides independent advice and recommendations on scientific, technical and policy issues to the Basic Energy Sciences Program of the Department of Energy. Gibson was appointed as a representative of the energy sciences community to provide advice in condensed matter and the area of materials physics. The committee includes representatives of universities, national laboratories and industries involved in energy-related scientific research.

“It is an honor to be appointed to the committee,” Gibson said. “I am looking forward to working with the members and to serve as a voice in the energy science community.”

Gibson is dean of the joint college and a professor in mechanical engineering. He was recently named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. Before joining the college, Gibson was the founding dean of the Northeastern University’s College of Science and was a professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The Basic Energy Sciences Office at the Department of Energy, Office of Science has an annual budget of $2.21 billion and funds national user facilities and research at universities.


Gibson announces plan to step down as Dean, FAMU-FSU College of Engineering

Engineering dean visits France to serve as a judge at the ‘Investissements D’Avenir’ program

FAMU-FSU College of Engineering Dean Named National Academy of Inventors Fellow